Firetruck Fridays – 1946 Bickle-Seagrave Custom
We take you all the way back to the 1946 Bickle-Seagrave Custom, affixed with a 100’ ladder.
Records on the use and sale are spotty, but it is believed that this apparatus was sold to Harriston Fire in 1993 before it was purchased back from them by the Guelph Professional Firefighters Association in 1999 as a showcase piece and used at various special events. This apparatus is currently stored at our west end station (Station 4).
On the right in the black and white photo is the old Guelph Fire Station building, a designated heritage landmark that is still standing today along Wilson Street. This location was used as the main fire hall from 1909 – 1972. After moving away in 1972, the old station held the city’s parks and recreation department. It also was used for a time to hold a lounge-pub called The Loft, which was connected to the Memorial Gardens. The heritage portion is now utilized by City Hall staff.
If anyone is aware of or has access to any historical Guelph Fire Department pictures or stories, please comment, post or share with us and others!